The James Lee Sessions

Bossa Nova

Une, Dos, Tres, Quatro

Clap, Clap, Clap

Metal Song

These four tracks (there’s one more, somewhere…) were recorded in my house during the spring of 2008. My friend James Lee and I had both recently quit our jobs at the sushi restaurant where we met, and had nothing but free time on our hands. James is a fountain of very great and very diverse musical ideas, but has very little discipline and seems to forget most things that he plays immediately after playing them, which is a travesty in my opinion. So, he would come over, I would set up some mics, and basically let him play until something cool happened, at which point I would have him go back, hit record and start shaping it into something.

I love listening to these tracks, as incomplete as they are. “Bossa Nova” really had us wishing there was some whispery-voiced girl around to sing. “Uno, Dos, Tres, Quatro” seems to go on forever, but is so groovy I don’t really care. The end part of “Clap, Clap, Clap” became the song “La Semilla”, which is on Eat What You Kill. Listening to it, I still kind of like it better. (Don’t tell.)

Leave a Reply

