The Moa

This is a tricky little tune that still throws me when I listen to it. I think the main riff was just something that I started playing on the guitar one morning. This, again, was during the period when I was just starting to play with the MIDI stuff on the computer, so I immediately took what would normally be a throw away riff and transferred it to the computer. MIDI marimba, bass, and piano. The banjo and rhodes are real.

I guess I envision this as the title music to a TV show. Something like Fringe, a show with some creepy paranormal stuff in it. I don’t know. I like it.

The moa were ten species of ancient, flightless birds that were native to New Zealand and became extinct somewhere around 1500 A.D.

Leave a Reply

