I’m Sorry

I’m Sorry

About two years ago I had been kicking around the idea of liberating myself from having to write lyrics for all of the music I wanted to make, and just using the music itself to express whatever emotion I was dealing with. This piece was the first successful incarnation of that idea, and sprang into being without much effort.

Basically, the piece is addressed to someone about whom I had finally concluded I didn’t want to ever be in a relationship with again. There’s so much that could be said about that moment with words, but I think the music really expresses what that felt like, and I guess what I wished she could feel like as well.

On the technical side, the guitars and banjo are real instruments, while the bass and reeds are synthesized, or MIDI, instruments. I’d never really thought about writing for clarinet and saxophone before, but the standard instruments that come with Pro-Tools largely sound like crap. The clarinet, organ, bass, and a few others are the only ones that sound halfway decent to me, so they show up in several pieces from this time period.

Also, the ambient sounds and barking dog were just things that were happening while recording and seemed to enhance the mood. The dog is my landlord’s dog, Gigi.

One Response to “I’m Sorry”

  1. Hey Josh,

    I really like this! Even without lyrics I don’t think it’s lacking anything. The music tells a good story, one that I’d imagine has to do more with feelings than with words anyways. It sounds like you’re strollin’ on, slowly but surely. The vaguely twangy/country sound is perfect to evoke that newfound freedom, and Gigi barking in the background adds a nice layer of immediacy. Good work!

    Adam

Leave a Reply

